Mr. Selfridge

I’ve begun watching the British television show Mr. Selfridge, starring Jeremy Piven. It’s rather amazing.

The show revolves around an American entrepreneur, Harry Selfridge (ENTER Jeremy Piven), who brings himself and his family across the waters to London, England to set up shop in the year 1909. Scandals and problems ensue amongst the hustle and bustle of the modern store. The show’s tagline is “the story of the man behind the retail empire” or something to that effect.

It is really rather good. I must say, I am impressed!

Also, Amanda Abbington, she who plays Mary Morstan (now Watson) on the hit BBC programme Sherlockis also cast in this magnificent programme as Mrs. Mardle (though I’m not sure I spelled that properly). She does a wonderful job and is very entertaining.

If you like period pieces, it’s definitely a show for you.
It reminded me of ragtime and big band music. So I began listening to the BBC Big Band Orchestra and I must say, it’s brilliant. Especially if one listens to it in the bath. Then it’s also relaxing.

It’s a bit reminiscent of Main Street at Disneyland in Anaheim, California.

Practically perfect in every way.

With that being said, I heavily recommend the show.

Today’s Selfridges is quite different from the Selfridges of that year, though I can be quite certain they’re equally magnificent and wondrous.

Leave a Reply

