Food For Thought

Food for thought: why do people find the need to embarrass or demean others in order to gain popularity or a better reputation?

An honest and sincere question.
Perhaps a bit naive.
But a seemingly age-old question nonetheless.

It seems whenever a person is around their friends, their personality appears to be heightened in some different ways. Some good qualities (beneficial) and, for others, bad qualities (detrimental).

I know someone whose bad qualities seem to come more to life when they are around their friends. They (led by this person) are rude and disrespectful to me. As though I were some sort of ugly duckling. A lot of them treat me as though I should be thankful they are acknowledging my existence.

It’s a naive question, but I am still wondering.

Why?
Why do people act like this?

I haven’t quite figured it out. It’s difficult for me because I’ve always been the nerd, right? I’ve always been the geeky kid. I’ve never had a problem with that. Not even entirely in high school. It just wasn’t a concern of mine, for the most part. I was who I was and it didn’t bother me that I didn’t have 101 friends. Someone always told me “better to have 4 quarters than 100 pennies.” I was perfectly happy with the few, close friends I had. None of my friends tried to outdo each other. None of my friends felt embarrassed to bring up the other in conversation. They were simpler times. The lore of high school being like hell was seemingly more applicable to the local community college I attended.

It’s been an experience, community college.
I wouldn’t say it’s been particularly good, but I wouldn’t say it’s been terrible.
I met some good people, some horrible horrible people.
I took some easy classes and some really hard classes.
Some days I tried, most I didn’t.

I’ve learned a lot about people though from my time at community college. Just watching them, occasionally picking up bits and pieces and fragments and endings of one-sided conversations, ideas, thoughts, concepts, etc.

It was a pleasure to watch.
That still doesn’t answer the question, however.

Why do people demean or embarrass others? I honestly believe that the promise of a better reputation is not worth it. Neither do I believe that it is beneficial for popularity reasons.

No one should ever make anyone feel like they do not deserve to be alive.

Leave a Reply

